The Key Elements of Great
November 24, 2020
What You Need to Know About the Difference Between DUI and DWI
The same definition of DUI or driving under the influence and DWI or driving while impaired is what you are able to see with some countries. If you go to Texas though then this one will not be applicable. Whenever the BAC that you have is .08% or more then it is you that will be charged with aggravated DWI in Texas. And if you are wondering what is aggravated DWI then it is a higher offense due to some circumstances. Circumstances like a BAC of .15% or higher, previous DWI conviction, there is an open container of alcohol in your vehicle, there is a child in your car at the time you’re pulled over for drunk driving, you cause an accident while driving drunk that resulted in serious injury or death will place you under an aggravated DWI.
The main factor is age in case you are wondering about what is aggravated DWI and its difference with DUI. For those individuals that are under the age of 21, it is them that will be charged with DUI. Whenever an individual will exceed this age limit then it is them that will be charged with DWI. IT is DWI that can still be charged regardless of the age limit. Once an individual exceed the required BAC level and has caused serious injury or death then it is DWI that can be charged against them. It is the charges that can increase to aggravated DWI depending on the circumstances.-what is aggravated DWI
You also will need to know about what is aggravated DWI and the penalties. Once this is your first offense for a common DWI then it is considered to be a Class B misdemeanor. Due to this one, it is you that will need to pay a fine of up to $2,000. There is also a possibility for your license to be suspended for up to one year and you can have jail time of up to 180 days. For those that will be charged with aggravated DWI then the penalties will be heavier.
Whenever the accident that you have caused resulted to death then it is the one that can result to a felony charge which is a serious case. It is this one that is a second-degree felony. An accident that resulted to injury is a third-degree felony charge. This can result to 10 years of jail time and fines up to $10,000.
If it is charges of DUI, DWI or aggravated DWI is what you are facing then make sure that you will be seeking legal counsel. It is these experts that will help you get through the legal proceedings.
Attributed by: visit this page